Where do you stand on the Junior Doctors' strikes ?

What's Hot

Comments

• SteffoSteffo Frets: 572
    Steffo;1039654" said:
    Hunt hasn't covered himself in glory, pretty poor, but...I have a massive problem with all this striking business. If you work in the private sector and you don't like it you either take it (and shut up) or leave. Why is it so different for people working for the NHS, public transport etc.? Don't like it? Go find a job somewhere else like everybody else. If I was a junior doctor I would do exactly that. Supply and demand.
    I work in the private sector, am in a union, and have voted on strike action in the past.

I find this whole "I let my employer shaft me, so everyone else should let theirs shaft them" attitude utterly bizarre. It's not a race to the bottom.

You're right, though, that many junior doctors will leave if this goes through. The point is that they're fully aware of just how shafted the NHS will be if that happens and are doing what they can to prevent it. Surprisingly enough lots of Doctors actually believe in the principles of the NHS and would like to protect it.

The issue is that a lot of people in the private sector don't let their employer shaft them, they have no choice. If I squeak I'm gone. 
     I agree that in some cases striking workers are getting a rough deal and are justified but more and more often the unions have used strike action to force through completely unreasonable demands.
    Junior doctors are not getting treated nicely but why is Joe public getting it???
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • tabbycattabbycat Frets: 341
    Steffo said:
    The issue is that a lot of people in the private sector don't let their employer shaft them, they have no choice. If I squeak I'm gone.