hmm...i think i've made a big mistake

What's Hot
samzadgansamzadgan Frets: 1471
for the last month i've been loving my ceriatone matchless lightning amp...alway going straight into the amp and playing clean and noodling. its really beautiful for clean tones. Yesterday, i started playing around with pedal...and as expected delays and verbs are great and just makes the clean even better...but...the dirt pedals...shit!...literally sounds like shit! Every pedal i put into this amp sounds crappy...really thin and as soon as the gain gets a little high there is this fizzy high end that comes with it...and i can't dial it out. 

The best i've been able to get is using the amp with master volume all the way down and the volume up, so i get some natural preamp breakup, and this seems to tame the high a bit, and with the dirt pedals it turns out a bit thicker...but still...its not great.

the pedals btw...are all great through my other amps...all except one is Black Arts which are known for having a lot of bottom end and thick sound.

When I was searching for this home amp one of my main criteria was that the amp would have EL34's because i've always found EL34 amps sounded better with the pedals and dirt sound i liked...this amp has EL84's and i went against my better judgement and experience and bought it...now, I'm thinking i made a mistake.

Now...either I go into the rabbit hole of trying to find the dirt pedal that will work well with this amp...or i just get rid of it and buy another amp...

thoughts...opinions...recommendations...?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33812
    I've tried EL84's so many times and I've concluded that they don't have enough bottom end for what I want to do.
    These days it is EL34's or 6L6's and nothing else.

I'd get rid of and try to get the right amp, rather than forever trying to put in something that simply isn't there.