Today at the barbers

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• thermionicthermionic Frets: 9634
    When I was a student I used to go to this Italian family barbers who had a couple of places in town. I had a couple of haircuts from the old patriarch, who did the entire haircut with a cutthroat razor. He was lightning quick, all done in five minutes. You just sat there and tried not to move.
    0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Snap said:
    TTBZ said:
    The worst part about using a straight razor is you now have to bleat on to everyone about how they're the best thing to grace your skin and act all superior to the plebs who use normal razors.
    lol, yeah, but they aren't. THey are frigging terrible things. Maybe it's a rite of passage for some of us: I had a phase of being into it. Cut my face to bits, and the shave was no better or worse than a Bic razor. There is usually a good reason for a tool being developed and in the case of a straight razor it's no different (IMO).

The amount of times I nearly cut my piggin chin off wiht that feckin cutthroat......

Still, I did think I was very cool. I was wrong. The sliced chin look definitely wasn't a good look.
    My barber said that the cutthroat is great if you're using it on someone else, but terrible to use on yourself.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 22880
    Stevepage said:
    Ever seen Sweeny Todd?

I haven't, but I have seen about 20,000 horror films. 

I know if the barber was going to go apeshit he could just stab me with the scissors or electrocute me with a hairdryer or something.... but straight razors are just intrinsically scary. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • holnrewholnrew Frets: 8207
    I pluck my ear hairs. I get very antsy without a pair of tweezers around. They don't get longer than a mm or two at worst if I have anything to do with it. Eyebrows, comb and clippers