Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Don't you just feel like packing it all in after the 100th gear related disappointment?

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• You're all mad just get a multi fx,  
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • You're all mad just get a multi fx,  
    This, to an extent, I do feel we are victims of our own cork sniffery, when I started playing (early 90's) I only had the choice of a few hundred different overdrives and modulation pedals......

I run a MultiFx for Delays,Verbs and modulation, with a valve preamp for my clean and dirty tones, I might stuff a pedal or two in the front of it if I feel like it occasionally, I've never had a better tone than now, but every piece of gear I've had in 25 years of playing has been a learning curve, either positive or negative, I've always sounded like me, but with each improvement in gear I sound more like me. 
    " Why does it smell of bum?" Mrs Professorben.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • My opinion (and it wont be popular) is that most guitarists have way too much gear, or at least try and use too much gear a at once. 

I see bands and for the absolute vast majority of the time the the tones they have are basically 

1. Clean/crunch
    2. More
    3. Lots
    4. Delay 
    5. Phasey wobbly goodness 

That's it. Then you look at their pedalboards and realise they've got about 25 pedals to deal with. That lot could be done with two gain pedals, one or two delays, one or two modulation pedals. 

Obviously there are guys who actually use loads of effects and need all the pedals, fair enough. But loads of guys seem to be carting around ludicrously convoluted boards when they don't need to.