Best word processor for academic writing?

What's Hot
I saw a recommendation on here many moons ago for a word processor other than libreoffice or MS Word and I can't for the life of me remember what it was. It had the ability to rearrange chunks of the text at a time and sub group them by headings. 
I've never written an academic document before so if it could make chicago referencing an absolute piece of piss to do as well Id be exceptionally grateful, having never referenced before. 
'Awibble'
Vintage v400mh mahogany topped dreadnought acoustic FS - £100 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Hertz32Hertz32 Frets: 2248
    I think it was scrivener, anybody confirm that it's a solid bit of kit? 
    'Awibble'
    Vintage v400mh mahogany topped dreadnought acoustic FS - £100 
  • Most academic papers will use latex but I wouldn't write directly into it. I would use word or libre office the copy / paste into a text editor prior to running ot through the latex tool chain.
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Pandoc is worth looking at.

It allows you to convert from a wide range of input formats to a large range of output formats.  For example, you can write in Markdown (easy to edit, lightweight markup language) and then render to PDF via a LaTeX template (so you can get pro-quality typesetting).

Note that Pandoc is just the converter - you still need an editor.  I've found Atom to be very nice - and it includes a Markdown preview engine so you can have an (almost) WYSIWYG authoring experience.
    Trading feedback | FS: Nothing right now
    JM build | Pedalboard plans
  • FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601
    Hertz32 said:
    I think it was scrivener, anybody confirm that it's a solid bit of kit? 
    It was developed as a Mac application. The Windows version is not (last time I checked) as fully featured and is buggy. If you work on a Mac then its worth a try.