Laptop recommendations - it's my turn...

What's Hot
My current employer furnished me with a MacBook Pro for the last 2 years, and I've really enjoyed it. I'm a software developer so it's pretty high spec so I can run Windows VMs, but I've been quite happy with MacOS itself.

As of Friday I won't be working for them any more, and won't get a laptop in the new job. I don't have a personal laptop or even a decent tablet.

I want something for the usual domestic duties of email, Facebook, Amazon, YouTube, Wikipedia, Spotify etc. But also something with enough grunt to run Microsoft Visual Studio and things like Docker.

I was looking at the MBP 13 (2015) which is what I have at work, and available for just over £1000.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/Laptops/Apple-MacBook-13-inch-Laptop-Intel-Core-Graphics/B00UY2U93W

I wondered what people would recommend as a Windows machine, that's similar or better spec for the money. £1000 would be the upper limit really.

I quite like the Yoga things that @Sporky talks about.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• For a bit less than that, you can get a better-spec Lenovo Yoga 900 - faster CPU, better screen, bigger SSD.

I have Sporky's old Yoga 2 Pro, which has a 4th gen i7 CPU and the same screen...it's bloody wonderful. If it died for whatever reason, I wouldn't hesitate to get another.
    <space for hire>
  • For a bit less than that, you can get a better-spec Lenovo Yoga 900 - faster CPU, better screen, bigger SSD.

I have Sporky's old Yoga 2 Pro, which has a 4th gen i7 CPU and the same screen...it's bloody wonderful. If it died for whatever reason, I wouldn't hesitate to get another.
    Ace, the Clementine Orange will match my company logo too! (I'm setting up my own business).
    That might be the decision made, nice and easy!