Reaper users / plugins

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33799
    edited October 2019
    I downloaded numerous plugins and watched numerous tutorials about mixing and mastering.  I've learnt what all the options are on a compressor and multiband compressors and about using EQ to create space for èach instrument and panning and saturation and limiters and buses etc.   

But

I still think I'm excellent at making my tracks sound worse, just too dull,  they lack sparkle.  Maybe it's my ears. On the  videos the producers are moving their dials by small increments as if they can hear a difference and to me it sounds identical.

What is the secret sparkle plugin that everyone else must use?

You need to develop your ear.
    It just takes time, I’ve been doing it since I was 17, so 30 years now.
    My early mixes were exactly as you describe and I blamed the gear but the truth was I just didn’t know what I was doing.

I would spend money on acoustic treatment, better monitoring and a better audio interface before chucking money at plugins (in that order too).

Then get some training or read some books.
    Do you know how to gain stage?
    How a compressor works and the various types of compression and when to use them?
    Frequency ranges for instruments?
    Can you tell me where the thud of a kick drum is located in the frequency range?
    Or the smack of a snare?
    Or the frequency in your own voice you need to cut because it is too nasal?

This is stuff you need to have in your head.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3655
    Bod said:
    Don't underestimate the impact of room acoustics.  My mixes are always a bit of guesswork in the low end due to standing waves and phase cancellation.  While ear training is essential to hearing the little changes, these problems can mask them so you stand no chance.