Ebony or Rosewood for Bridge?

What's Hot
JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6119
Just purchased an old ES-125T, a type of guitar I have no experience of. It's arrived with a modern metal bridge attachment but I understand originally it would have been wood. Would there be much difference in tone if I chose one wood over the other? I'm imagining that ebony might be harder and therefore brighter but that's just a guess.

Also, does anyone know where I can source a replacement ES-125T bridge (or generic archtop?) in UK/EU?

A picture of my latest squeeze.

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14592
    The A. R. Duchossoir  Gibson Electric book says Rosewood with compensated intonation profile. 

The original will have been cut for a wound G string. The conversion on the guitar in the photograph makes sense for lighter gauge strings with a plain G.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16806
    Rosewood is certainly right for that style of Gibson but try ebony if you want a bit more snap.

finding a bridge is easy, or was before rosewood became an issue... but setting it up nicely takes a bit more work, like a nut really.
  • JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6119
    I don't know what the current strings are except that they're round wounds with a wound 3rd. I'm used to 9-41 pure nickels on a solid body so this is a bit of a change. I've ordered a set of 11-49 half rounds which is a kinda halfway house. It sounds lovely and is surprisingly loud unplugged. Fell in love as soon as I held it and strummed a few chords. My first Gibson 6 string.
    edited July 2018
    looks like allparts only have ebony now
    https://www.allparts.uk.com/products/compensated-bridge-and-base-for-arched-top-guitar-ebony