Which basic guitar design do you most associate with?

What's Hot

Comments

• GrumpyrockerGrumpyrocker Frets: 4149
    edited August 2018
    Single cuts. Not necessarily Les Pauls, though I do love those, and own one. I've also got an ESP EC-256. Back when I started playing (around 1989) most of my favourite players used Les Pauls. Page, Slash, etc.

I remember watching the Freddy Mercury tribute concert (1992?) and Kirk Hammet was playing an ESP single cut and I thought "I want something like that". Still don't have something like that.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • drwiddlydrwiddly Frets: 918
    For me it's a Strat, superstrat or double cut - e.g. PRS, Eggle Berlin, etc. I've owned several LP's, a couple of Flying V's and one or two other oddities but they're never quite as comfortable.

Not sure there's much difference between a Strat and a superstrat as far as basic ergonomics are concerned. If you start getting into number of frets, pickup type/config, bridge design, etc, you may as well ask "what's your favourite guitar". For example, my Blade RH-4 is a superstrat but ergonomically it's not much different to a basic Fender Strat.
  • bingefellerbingefeller Frets: 5723
    Strat shapes for definite.  They always feel the most comfortable and well balanced.
  • NeilNeil Frets: 3637
    Probably Les Paul Special or Junior.
    Basically the Gibson slab models.
  • Jack_Jack_ Frets: 3175
    Bendercaster.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • normula1normula1 Frets: 640
    I have dalliances with other guitars but I always feel most at home with a Strat.
  • newi123newi123 Frets: 875
    Strat for me
  • SchnozzSchnozz Frets: 1957
    Superstrat. I want to say ES-335, but I'd be lying.

Superstrats are the most practical Guitar, but dynamic too.

...Not as classy as a ES-335 though.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • olafgartenolafgarten Frets: 1648