Bloody Les Pauls

What's Hot
123457»

Comments

• thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    impmann said:
    And 3TS is off again.

So the wood makes no difference in sound to an electric guitar (a nonsense, huh)?

Haven’t we been here before chum?

Its time to put you back on block...
    I'm not necessarily saying he's correct but what he says does seem to make sense.

Maybe the mechanism for how the wood vibrations work is complex and no one has been able to explain it in layman's terms. Or at least not anywhere I've tried to find the info.

@Three-ColourSunburst - when you talk about the non wood options, there have been guitars made of other materials, right?

Do they sound as you expect? Sound good? Have no dead spots?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Revolting1Revolting1 Frets: 295
    I started playing electric guitar in 1975
     I discovered dead spots quite quickly because the 'Lawsuit'-read cheap guitars had plenty of them.
      Always assumed it was a timber/ construction issue via a process of elimination.
        Have done setups/ guitar teching for small shops occasionally over the years
       I'd assume ICBM has alot more experience teching than me.
     I've only ever done it part time.
         I'm certainly no amp tech.
        I also assumed most guitarists would know about dead or deadish spots .
    When logic and proportion
  • VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4724
    edited July 2019
    Regardless of the guitar quality, brand, or shape, there will be those that find a particular guitar type/design to be a really comfortable fit ergonomically and a great fit for their style of play (physically & tonally), and those that for all their appreciation of a particular guitar design, simply can't get along with them.