I'm hopeless when anyone is watching me..

What's Hot
grappagreengrappagreen Frets: 1343
edited March 2020 in Technique
This is just killing me.. and I cannot understand why.

I've been playing for about 30 years and I consider myself a pretty capable guitarist and musician. As soon as anyone other than my immediate family are watching or listening I literally cannot play. I'm not overstating this. It's like my brain just turns off and I lose total control of my fingers.. even the simplest thing becomes literally impossible to play..

I played in bands when I was a kid and never had this issue. I played in a band a few years ago and it was somewhat hellish. Did it for three years and it never got any easier but I could always 'blend' into the band and hide behind a mic stand. When it's just me and a guitar forget it..

Just to illustrate how bad things are I've actually given up having lessons with real people. I would practice like crazy but when it came time to playing what I'd worked on in front of my tutor(s) I would simply choke.. to the point where I had one tutor tell me there was no point in me paying for lessons if I wasn't going to practice.. I could execute the piece I had learned flawlessly at home..

Ironically I speak to reasonably large audiences on a regular basis with my work and I'm about as confident a public speaker as you can find..

Help.. 

Si
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12368
    Did you play at water rats? I seem to remember no one being sh1tter than me?

2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • grappagreengrappagreen Frets: 1343
    munckee said:

I did and again I f'cked up pretty much everything I had learned.. 

I also sat downstairs in the room with a few of the chaps and played at about 15% of my actual capability..
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11762