Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    Was intending to brew an 8.5% DIPA tomorrow but really needed to have two sachets of yeast. So decided to make a starter, but unfortunately my dried malt extract is a bit oxidised so I don't really want to just chuck all the starter into the fresh wort. 

So now I need to finish the,starter and cold crash it so I can decant and just use the yeast. Which means it won't be ready for tomorrow!!  Grrrrr.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    Guess that's both our brew day plans spoiled then.

I was only planning a small brew to test the Dizzy Blonde recipe I found.  Didn't have the necessary hops but I was due a delivery from The Malt Miller yesterday.  DPD have lost the parcel!  Waiting to hear from MM about getting it sorted.  

Could have brewed something else but the only hops I've got at the moment are citra and mosaic and I'm getting a bit bored of them.

Today's activities have been reduced to bottling the American stout I did a couple of weeks ago.  Looks, smells and tastes really promising.  Wasn't sure on the yeast I used.  The pack of ale yeast I'd got open didn't quite have enough in it so, rather than open a new pack, I threw 1g of wine yeast in.  Could explain why it's finished quite dry with a FG of 1.008 but it doesn't taste overly dry.  Guess I'll find out in a couple of weeks.

FG on the juniper IPA suggests it's done as well despite only starting it last weekend.  Used just ale yeast for this one so I don't thing it's going much lower than the 1.012 I'm seeing at the moment.  Will check again tomorrow and, assuming no movement, I'll bottle that as well.

Stocks are really starting to build up.
    Just had another bottle of the coriander and orange IPA.  Now I've increased the temp on the beer fridge a lot of the haze has cleared.  Still not crystal clear but a big improvement.