What Gibson type guitar would you recommend to a 'strat guy'?

What's Hot
hasslehamhassleham Frets: 608
edited March 2020 in Guitar
I've been playing guitar for nearly 20 years and never owned a Gibson, or any Les Paul style guitar.. I don't have anything against them but I've just always been drawn to strat/superstrat guitars and I've just realised that I have a possible itch that's never been scratched!

I've been playing a lot of blues and other different styles out of my comfort zone recently so I'm I guess I'm looking for something fun to play that gets 'that tone' that a strat can't do.

As I've never owned or taken an interest in these guitars before, is there anything thats particularly good for the price in terms of tone/playability? Anything to avoid or watch out for when buying used, apart from obvious neck repairs.

Open to suggestions of Les Paul or SG type stuff!
I'll say £600 for a guideline budget but can be flexible I guess. 

Thanks!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14603
    Firebird VII with Vibrola tailpiece.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • mikeyrob73mikeyrob73 Frets: 4677
    I may have something of interest for you pm me 
  • NikcNikc Frets: 627
    Tokai - Love Rock would be good shout 
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24852
    edited March 2020
    As someone who’s played Strats for over 35 years, I find the transition to a Les Paul ‘too’ difficult. The heavily back-angled neck, limited upper end access, control layout and the generally ‘short but chunky’ feel just don’t work for me. 

An SG might suit - though again the control layout is an issue for me.

In terms of playing dynamics, a 335 (or variant) is probably the most Fender-like Gibson.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 12018
    none

I tried loads.