Bottled it and Kicking Myself!

What's Hot

I had a chance to do a song on the Bass in a pub last night and I bottled it.

Bear in mind I am a Guitarist not Bassist and have not played in front of people for 19 years.

The pub was packed and had someones Birthday do on. It's a pub me and my brother go in most weekends, so we are familiar with it. The group had a Guitarist/Singer, Keyboard player and a Drummer and no Bassist, but they had a Bass as spare. I think they were not an established group, but musicians who do the rounds and know each other.

I was stood very close to where they were playing and just before the last song of their first set, the singer asked if anyone could play Bass so I discretely went over and asked him what they were playing. It was Valerie(Zutons version) which I could have handled quite easy I think.

The nerves kicked in at that moment then, I didn't seem too bothered when he asked but just stepping forward 3 feet on the carpet to the guy seemed to be like walking to my fate on Death Row.

I had a word anyway, ummed and aaahhhed a bit and made some excuse up to the guy and carried on watching them. I'd only had 1/2 pint as well so I wasn't scared of messing up through alcohol.

It was discrete so there was no embarassment as such, just a feeling that I was completely "Chicken". I was so disappointed with myself at the time a and was beating myself up a bit.

I have been thinking "If only" today. If I'd have just had the nerve to do it, I would have thought I'd really made a breakthrough, even though it may seem like nothing to some.

If I'd have had the song rehearsed I think I would have done it. I think that was what put most of the fear in me.

F*****g Nerves, man. If I ever play live again I hope this doesn't race to my memory.

Sorry to go on, but it's a missed opportunity as far as I'm concerned and I thought I was more brave than that.

Just wondered if you think I'm being too negative and too hard on myself about it.

Thanks.