Red light fever ......or that's what I'm told it is !

What's Hot
Jimbo55Jimbo55 Frets: 7
I'm a forever beginner guitar player - have lots of ditties I can play happily plinky plonking at home, but as soon as I go live with a few friends to jam, or even just try to record bits and pieces at home I just fumble, get outta time, and hit wrong strings/frets and make a fool of myself !
What's the remedy - I guess practice/practice/practice/concentrate etc etc
Anything else that can calm me and improve the situation ?????????
(PS- have got to the age where I'm not scared/embarrassed to go up on stage and waffle/speak on a microphone to loads of people though !)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Practice playing 

A - Stood up 

B - Without looking at your guitar 

and 

C - To a click 

Once you can do all that, without thinking about it, it should help your live performances. 

My Trading Feedback    |    You Bring The Band

Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • Jimbo55Jimbo55 Frets: 7
    many thanks Legionreturns !
    That sounds could be the way - I never need to do much of B (pleased to say), lazily slumped in chair at home playing and never really played to a metronome/drumbeat so strict A&C will apply from now on !
    Funnily enough, an ad for Soundbrenner metronome watches popped up on my phone today, except they are bloomin' expensive to get the better version - any comments on those by the way ...if that's what it'll take I will though !
  • LegionreturnsLegionreturns Frets: 7965
    edited August 2021
    Nah, just a cheap or free metronome app on your phone is fine.

It's rare that you'd need to play to a click live; that's what the drummer is for! 

The point of doing it is to get better at staying "in time" without speeding up.