The demise of sketch shows.

What's Hot

Comments

• boogiemanboogieman Frets: 12383
    edited October 2021
    Dominic said:
    ^ He was an odd character........we used to live about 4 houses away from him .He shot at kids with an air rifle if they climbed on his fence.
    He was a downright grumpy git most of the time, but then he was a manic depressive. His office was just round the corner from Queensway where I worked as a Saturday boy in an ironmongery shop. He’d come in every now and then…. I remember selling him a set of hinges once which he claimed were “for an exploding penguin I’m making”.  
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 22979
    Mellish said:
    @Philly_Q I have visions of you back then looking at Ryan Davies as if he was Methuselah age-wise :) 
    Yeah, I'm not sure how old I was, certainly under 12.  I remember exactly what he looked like - or at least I thought I did! - and I'm picturing a guy in his 60s.  We saw him in panto at the Swansea Grand Theatre a few times and again I'm picturing a guy of retirement age, but he'd have been in his late 30s.

He was very skinny and had a combover, so he did look older than his age.  And I've just realised Ronnie Williams looked like Saddam Hussein with his moustache shaved off...

BBC - Wales Arts History of Swansea39s Grand Theatre detailed in new book
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MellishMellish Frets: 947
    edited October 2021
    @Philly_Q but if they entertained you (and I hope they did), they did their job. I don't get modern comedy at all, just not my thing. Thanks for the pic, though, nice to see them 
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28339
    Dominic said:
    Mike and Bernie were not American they were from N London ( Cockfosters )

That is so weird! I'd have sworn that they were American! Oh well, they weren't funny and I probably haven't seen them since I was about 7.