Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Transition from shy bedroom guitarist to gig next month - help!

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• mudslide73mudslide73 Frets: 3078
    Unfortunately we start the first set with my three quickest/hardest solos so I've found a few minutes of warmup gets me through. Remember to look up!
    "A city star won’t shine too far"

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • uberscottuberscott Frets: 130
    I can't add much to the practical advice to what's already been said, but just under three years ago I was in much the same position as you. By my 40s I had been playing for over 30 years, but hadn't gigged regularly since my 20s. Three years ago, I got back into regular playing/practice and joined a local band, and honestly - it's one of the best things I've ever done. We play pub gigs once or twice a month, and I've improved a lot in both playing and performing. I bloody love it, and I hope you get as much of a kick out of it as I do - good luck and have a blast! 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • One more thing:

If in doubt - do less and do it confidently.
    +1 to this!

Less is definitely more generally when gigging but especially when you start out. 

Use as small a pedal board as possible to minimise getting in a mess with pedal dancing, plus less stuff to go wrong/trouble shoot.

When you get your amp up to gig level, use a bit less bass and a bit less gain than you think you need.

Then when solo time comes many less notes at much less speed than you think!