New Beginner's YouTube Channel - Going from Dreadful to (hopefully) Decent

What's Hot
ShawnEShawnE Frets: 5
edited August 2023 in Plug My Stuff
Hey guys & girls, I'm Shawn.

I started learning on an acoustic a little over three weeks ago at the age of 38 (with zero instrument experience) & I'm periodically documenting my progress (started from day 1) with video updates on a new YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@NewLifeWithGuitar

I've started with self-teaching via online lessons but hope to introduce weekly in-person lessons in the near future.

First reason for this is so I can of course look back at these in years to come & appreciate this journey we're on of continual improvement - second reason is I think it could prove a collection of useful content for other beginners - both now & in the future - as a sort of reference point or somewhere to get the perspective of another beginner who may be at their current level. I already find it more helpful than you may think to see or hear about other learners struggling with the same things I am & then later explaining how they found ways to overcome this, that & the other.... it has already produced a couple of lightbulb moments in my first 3 weeks... but content from a beginner's perspective seems limited for obvious reasons... we're rubbish & generally want to hide away 'till we're half decent.

Anyway, I'll try to remember to post my updates in here. If any other beginner's want to follow along (as well as any of you more advanced curious minds) feel free to subscribe & offer words of motivation, advice, or even just to have a general guitar chat!

Day 1:
https://youtu.be/zT9ij0RV4M4

Week 1 Update:
https://youtu.be/05H5KqOKR_U

Week 2 Update:
https://youtu.be/ZXif-NdEz4w

Week 3 Update:
https://youtu.be/gS_215iNyyk

Thanks in advance for anyone who may be interested in following along &/or getting in touch!