Post COVID, pressure on primary breadwinners

What's Hot

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 28198
    Iamnobody said:

I was never paid for travelling to and from the office in my own time 
    That point seems to be often missed. Employers don't pay different amounts based on how far you live from the office. 
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10406

I've been working from home since 2016. To a certain extent work never stops for me, but then it never really starts either in the normal sense. I have no set times I have to do anything. I don't need to take calls or go on Zoom. If I have a business meeting it will be in the pub, face to face. I can (and often do) sit on the beach in the summer designing stuff and answering the odd email. 
    But I never really switch off and will work online to quite late at night sometimes. I don't mind this as I enjoy it. It's a vocation that just happens to pay really well. 

It's hard to describe but it's kind of like there's no distinction between work and home anymore .. it's all kinda rolled into one enjoyable thing. It suits me but I can see some people need firm lines between the 2 

www.2020studios.co.uk 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 22827
    Sporky said:
    Iamnobody said:
    That point seems to be often missed. Employers don't pay different amounts based on how far you live from the office. 
    But some salaries include a "London weighting" (or presumably a "Manchester weighting", or whatever) to allow for living, within commuting distance, in an expensive part of the country.  Apparently some people switched to permanent WFH and moved further out, so it's debatable whether they should still get the London weighting.  Presumably many employers have levelled-up their salary structures now.