Gordon Smith upgrades?

What's Hot
markvmarkv Frets: 459
I would be interested in theFB's collected wisdom concerning what might be good upgrades for my Gordon Smith GS2/60.

I bought it new about 4 years ago and it's still completely stock - but none of the hardware is branded, so I have no idea whether it's really much good or not - and I can't really tell from just looking, I'm not experienced enough.

I like the guitar and am basically happy with it but am inevitably wondering if a tweak here or there might just add that little something extra. The usual question is "what do you want" and the short answer is, more of the same I guess - just better!

Yes, I know this is all a bit vague - I'm basically after information about the current components and what knowledge people have about how they compare to known good quality alternatives.

The biggest and most obvious change would be to the pickups. The current pickups are GS humbuckers, medium-high output I would say (about 9K according to their old web site iirc?), and have coil taps. They have plastic covers rather than metal ones - John Smith advised me that as well as costing extra, the metal covers would "dull and diminish the output", so I didn't go for that.

If I was to replace them I'd be going for a UK maker like Bare Knuckle, Creamery, Oil City, Mojo etc. From an aesthetic point of view I would prefer metal covers. Does anyone know how these kind of alternatives compare with the stock GS pickups?

The bridge is a tunamatic and stop tail, tuners are unbranded chrome and the electrics ... dunno, although the pots look very small which somehow doesn't say "quality" to me. Does anyone know what any of these components are (or probably are) and is there benefit in replacing them?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts, opinions and experience!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TTonyTTony Frets: 27602