Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Advice needed - Cheap and cheerful amp head with some power

What's Hot

Comments

• I will say that the Artisan 30s are bloody great... but certainly aren't cheap 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Oh, and if you ever try to sell them it's less than cheerful too 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Oh, and if you ever try to sell them it's less than cheerful too 
    That's true. I gave up trying to sell my ht40. I bottomed out at 250 gbp.  I since put a wgs speaker in it which had helped massively but I wish I'd never bought the thing. Was swayed by good reviews when I started playing again but it's average at best.
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1639
    edited November 2016

"But do bare in mind I am sharing my opinion, I'm not passing anything off as fact. I am entitled to dislike a range of apps especially when I have had extended playing time on a variety of models"

Of course you are but it might have been better to couch it in those terms above?

The second hand value is not really something you can "design in"! B's could I suppose greatly inflate the new price?

The Artisan 30 was mentioned and said to be expensive. In cash terms it is but put against similar, boutigue handwired amps, not outrageous and I would stack its reliability against any 30W valve amp in the world regardless of cost.

And on the subject of reliability? From what ICBM tells us, the Blackstars might be the only ones TOO reach for in the rehearsal room!  

Dave.

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72673
    The IDs do seem to be reliable, yes. As you know I'm not exactly a fan of the Blackstar sound either though! I'd take working and not sounding great over the opposite…