Has anyone played a reissue that is good as an original

What's Hot

Comments

• SimonCSimonC Frets: 1399
    I was surprised to see an 88 Les Paul Standard featured on Norman’s Rare Guitars very recently. It was identical to my 88 Standard, even down to the buckle rash on the back. 
    Ive owned the guitar from new, and consider it to be an ok Les Paul, nothing more.
     I also have a modern McCarty which sounds and plays better in every way.
    It amuses me slightly that 80s guitars are now beginning to have some vintage mystique attached to them as well.
    it really is all in the mind.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11469
    edited March 2019
    JDE said:

interesting thread, would be really curious to see what people think about this with acoustics, as that’s probably the real litmus test.
    I'm not an expert on other brands, but unless you go for the very old (and very expensive) ones, I prefer a good modern Martin dreadnought.  I've got an HD28V now, but before I bought that, I tried a few early 70s ones, and they were nowhere as good as the HD28V, and were about the same price.  Martin changed the material used for the bridgeplate around 1968, and didn't change it back until 1988 or thereabouts.  I'm certain you are better off with a modern Martin than one from that era.

I've played a mid 60's Martin with the "correct" bridgeplate material and Brazilian back and sides, and I still prefer the HD28V.  The HD28V has the pre-war style bracing now marketed as "forward shifted".  The post war Martin bracing just doesn't sound as good to me.

I've had mine for more than ten years now, and it does sound better now than when it was new.  It really seemed to open up at around 5 years old.  For me, the optimum is probably a modern build with 10 or 15 years of real age on it.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TeleMasterTeleMaster Frets: 10275