Stuck at home Challenge - learn a song that you find difficult

What's Hot
axisusaxisus Frets: 28338
OK, so I'm sat here at home and spending WAY more time here than usual. I figured that I should really challenge myself to learn something difficult, something in my case that I have failed at in the past. So I currently have two challenges to myself, one on guitar and one on piano:

i) Get beyond the first third of Satriani's Always with me always with you. I've been playing the first section badly for many years, I have never managed to learn the first quick legato run or anything after (attempted many times!)

ii) Learn to play the rather awesome Wait for sleep by Dream Theater. I have got literally nowhere with this lovely keyboard piece in the past. Time to roll up the sleeves and see if I can make something of it. 

Anyone else taking anything on?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    Apparently our jamming group have opted for Sultans of Swing, My Sharona and Radar Love (long version) as homework for the duration. 

My problem is memory (and talent obviously)
  • spark240spark240 Frets: 2084
    hywelg said:
    Apparently our jamming group have opted for Sultans of Swing, My Sharona and Radar Love (long version) as homework for the duration. 

My problem is memory (and talent obviously)
    My Sharona is odd.....is a pretty easy song that I find difficult to get right without prompts from the vocals.

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • I finally learned the intro to Little Wing. Not at all complicated but it’s a piece I’ve always wanted to play but never made the effort before. 
    Other than that just trying to build on some ideas I’ve had for original songs but never followed through with.