Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Chapman Guitars at NAMM

What's Hot

Comments

• skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6881
    I also own a chapman. An ml-2 (second run). 

I bought it because at the time for the price of the mk2 range, it was the most bang for buck new. Around £450?

Actually, I initially bought the same model but second hand from Andertons to ‘try’. That day I sat and played for hours like I hadnt done in years. 

Dunno what ignited me except for the guitar itself. 

I also bought a Prs se Tremonti (the base model with wraparound bridge in vintage cherry red) for about £399. 

Both solid body single cuts with set necks and dual humbuckers. 

Pretty good base for comparison no?
    I’m no expert and I’ll try and be brutal where I can. 

I like both of them but the Prs would go sooner than the chapman. 
    Purely based on the prs having smaller frets, a thicker neck and a bulkier neck joint. 

Their general build qualities to me, appear the same. 

The Prs is a 2015 model, the headstock says its made by PT Wildwood Indonesia. 

The chapman is Korean, I ‘think’ world guitars. 

I presumed all ranges of prs se’s were made by world guitars and in Korea, the same factory as chapmans, but alas, my prs wasnt, otherwise this would have been an even better comparison.

Lets compare compadres. 
    I’ll list the specs that matter but omit stuff like radius’ because Its late and As both these guitars are long discontinued, I bet the internet will fail
    me. 

The guitars: 

A second run (mk2) Chapman ml-2 in ‘sanded natural oil stain’:
    Maple set neck with Ebony board. 
    Satin/sanded natural finish to rear of neck.
    Mahogany body, appears to me as a 2 piece.
    Extra jumbo frets
    Tusq nut
    Tonepros bridge
    Grover machineheads
    String thru body