Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Why do you think the forum has a retention issue?

What's Hot

Comments

• Shrews said:
    As a relative newbie here (not sure if a few years means Im still a newbie), I would say that this messageboard is among the best Ive joined over the tears.

Sure, it might not be in its golden years, but not many are, the concept of a messageboard is a bit old hat nowadays.

What springs to mind to me is that there are beginner guitarists, novice guitarists, experienced guitarists and downright awesome guitarists. Some of you have been playing 30, 40, 50 years ffs, even played to hundreds or thousands of people.

But we all play guitar, right?

There are no separate sections for the awesome, experienced, novice or beginner guitarists to hang out. So what you get is beginner guitarists feeling a little intimidated, novice guitarists looking elsewhere for some technical advice or words of wisdom, experienced guitarists a little wound up because they've never quite got to the next level, and awesome guitarists looking to play a 50 string sitar just for some variety.  

Its a guitar-fashioned-Maslow's-hierarchy.

Nobody is 'quite' getting what they wanted. 

I think this is a pretty astute observation. Maybe the forum could add a beginners questions area, where the rule is you be nice, you inform and educate others, and help them along their journey.

Bye!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Iamnobody said:
    Just to put a number of some sort on my above post - visitors to the site who aren’t registered outnumber registered users by 10 to 1….
    I’d imagine that’s probably typical of traffic to most forums?