Ian Elson guitars (new UK brand)

What's Hot

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33801

I have been doing this since 1987, working for others first, launching Feline in 1992 and going full time without a safety net in 1997, and to be fair I believe that "slow and steady wins the race", as you build up skills, loyalty and a good customer base and you develop the business skills and a sense of perspective.
    How essential has repairing been to maintaining your business, Jonathan?

There are a few builders that don't do repairs, some of them did to begin with and dropped it, some never have.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FelineGuitarsFelineGuitars Frets: 11597
    edited December 2015 tFB Trader
    octatonic said:

I have been doing this since 1987, working for others first, launching Feline in 1992 and going full time without a safety net in 1997, and to be fair I believe that "slow and steady wins the race", as you build up skills, loyalty and a good customer base and you develop the business skills and a sense of perspective.
    How essential has repairing been to maintaining your business, Jonathan?

There are a few builders that don't do repairs, some of them did to begin with and dropped it, some never have.

Repairs are essential - still pays the rent and wages
    Also many customers get to know us via repairs and set-ups and the quality of that work makes them enquire about custom builds.

Also what you learn from handling & fixing every make imaginable cannot be underestimated.
    There are a lot of things on my guitars that are from lessons well learnt from deep knowledge of other guitars.
    Good stuff we may have adopted and bad Stuff we avoid.

We are always looking at best practice and most player and technician friendly approaches.

Also we do more fret jobs and fret dresses & set-ups in a week than some builders do in a year.