Guitarist-isms that make you cringe

What's Hot

Comments

• BidleyBidley Frets: 2933
    "This guitar is rubbish" it's not a bag of rotting food waste or the contents of a bin is it?! GAWD!!

"This guitar is nice" what, did it ask you if you wanted help with your shopping?! GAWD!!

Also, I'm quite sure I've read people relentlessly whinge about the description "plays like butter", 500 times more than I've seen it written in earnest.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • usedtobeusedtobe Frets: 3842
    I'm a rhythm guitarist..
     so if you fancy a reissue of a guitar they never made in a colour they never used then it probably isn't too overpriced.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • dindudedindude Frets: 8540
    edited January 2014
    This thread makes me cringe. Bunch of wingeing gits (btw git is short for guitar ;) )
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • EdGripEdGrip Frets: 736
    I tend to be annoyed by the unknowing or unthinking use of Americanisms, in any context. It has to do with the fact that in the endlessly-shrinking world that we occupy, exposure to mass media is eroding local dialects, and I like local dialects because they are diverse and interesting and joyous. Whenever a really broad Norfolk old Norfolk ol' boy dies, it means there are fewer people who speak with such a strong accent as him, or who use the words for certain things that he does. Now, this is a tricky area that I have mixed feelings about - whatever course the evolution of language takes, is the right course, by definition. It's no use trying to push back the tide or force your children to waste their fleeting youth on learning your father's lovely-but-obsolete language. Wales, northern Scotland, I'm looking at you.